Navratri 2018: Celebrate the Nine Days, the Right Way!

Various legends abound about the origin and significance of the great, dazzlingly beautiful and colourful festival of Maha Navaratri, but the common thread running through them all is that it is celebrated to pay our obeisance to the Goddess Durga. Marking the beginning of the festive season, for nine days and nights, across the length and breadth of the country, the festival is celebrated with great pomp and ceremony. It is believed, that Goddess Durga battled with demon Mahishasura and defeated him. To celebrate her victory and Mahishasura’s defeat, the day is marked to worship and honour the Goddess. Goddess Durga has nine incarnations, and one each is worshiped on each of the nine days of the festival.

Starting from Day one, devotees wear clothing of a specific colour code every day. This is honour of the nine avatars of Goddess Durga. Paying specific detail to accessories and traditional attire, devotees from all walks of life follow the colours assigned with great enthusiasm.

Here are the nine colours that are assigned for each day:

Day One: Royal Blue

The first day of the festival will begin with bliss and grace, as devotees will worship Brahmacharini. With this in mind, the colour of Royal Blue was chosen to signify calmness, wisdom and strength.

Day Two: Yellow

The bright colour of yellow is chosen for the second day in honour of the Chandraghanta Puja. Representing happiness and optimism, the second day will definitely be one of the brightest this year!

Day Three: Green

Day three is dedicated to the creator of the Universe, Kushmunda. Green, which is considered to be the colour of new beginnings and growth, has been chosen for this day.

Day Four: Grey

A mother is considered to be the ultimate protector of her child. Celebrating the bond between a mother and her child, the fourth day of the festival is dedicated to Skandamata, the mother of War-God Skanda. Representing vulnerability, the chosen colour of the day is grey.

Day Five: Orange

On this day, devotees worship Goddess Saraswati and marks the first day of Saraswati Puja. To represent knowledge and energy, the colour orange is selected for the day.

Day Six: White

This day of Navratri is dedicated to Goddess Katyayani, who is considered to be the violent avatar of Goddess Durga. White, which represents peace and purity, is the chosen colour of the day.

Day Seven: Red

Devotees will go red on this day in honour of Goddess Kalaratri, the fierce avatar of Goddess Parvati. The colour is chosen as it represents fire and energy.

Day Eight: Sky Blue

The occasion of Ashtami will celebrate wisdom and sincerity, represented with the colour Sky Blue. The colour is chosen in appreciation of nature.

Day Nine: Pink

The nine-day-festival will come to an end with the colour pink. This shade was chosen to celebrate Maha Navami as the colour represents hope.

This is how Goddess Durga manifests herself in nine forms which are collectively known as “Navadurga”.

Wish you a very very Happy Navratri.

0/5 (0 Reviews)

Leave a Comment